Vegan Options At Subway

Have you recently gone vegan and want to know what you can eat at Subway?

Or are you looking to enjoy a plant-based lunch from time to time and want to know what your options are? No matter what your reason is, we are here to help! 

Vegan Options At Subway

Figuring out what you can eat as a vegan in Subway can be tricky. While lots of options sound tasty, they aren’t available everywhere.

The plant-based meatballs launched in 2019, were available for a limited time only, and not in every store! So what can you have in Subway? 

Well, that’s what we are here to tell you! Keep reading as we break down all the vegan-friendly options in Subway so you can build the sandwich of your dreams today! Let’s get straight into it! 

Vegan Options At Subway

Unfortunately, the vegan options at Subway aren’t brilliant. The only vegan-friendly filling is the Veggie Delight. Technically, it isn’t a filling either.

The veggie delight filling is simply crispy and fresh veggies! This is great if you want a fresh salad sandwich for your lunch, but if you are looking for something warm and filling, it probably won’t do the job. 

You can customize the Veggie Delight to suit your tastes, though, so at least you can have the sandwich packed with your favorite salad ingredients! 

The Veggie Delight is typically served on 9-grain wheat bread, but as it is Subway, you can customize this!

So now, let’s take a look at all the ways you can customize this tasty sandwich and see all the vegan-friendly options available to you. 


Starting with the bread, you’ve got a wide range of choices! The following bread are all suitable for a vegan diet: 

  • Italian (White) Bread 
  • Hearty Italian Bread 
  • 9 Grain Wheat 
  • Roasted Garlic Bread 
  • Sourdough 
  • Tomato Basil Wrap
  • Spinach Wrap 

If you have any allergies, make sure to check with the server to find a bread that is suitable for you! 


You have a good range of toppings to choose from for your sandwich too. At this moment in time, there is no vegan-friendly cheese or protein available at Subway. 

  • Tomatoes 
  • Spinach
  • Olives
  • Onions 
  • Lettuce 
  • Pickles
  • Jalapeno Pepper Slices 
  • Green Peppers 
  • Cucumbers
  • Banana Peppers

Toppings And Condiments 

Toppings And Condiments 

Here you can have some fun with your sandwich and customize it to your tastes! The following toppings and condiments are suitable for a vegan diet. 

  • Subway Vinaigrette 
  • Sub Spice 
  • Subway Herb Garlic Oil 
  • Salt 
  • Sea Salt and Pepper
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • Provencal Herbs 
  • Oil
  • Oregano
  • Pepper 
  • Deli Brown Mustard
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Mustard Seed Spread
  • Guacamole 
  • Fat-Free Sweet Onion
  • Buffalo Sauce 
  • Barbeque Sauce 


The sides Subway offer varies from store to store. Thankfully, there always seems to be a vegan option! Most Subways offer Lays, Sun Chips, or Mrs. Vickies. All of these have vegan-friendly options for you to enjoy! 

Just be sure to check the label of any chips you purchase to ensure they are suitable for a vegan diet and don’t contain anything you are allergic to.


Subway offers a few soups to warm you up on a cold winter’s day!

There is only one soup option available to vegans, their Black Bean Soup. Thankfully, this soup is tasty so we are sure you will enjoy it! 


Desserts at Subway are a bleak affair for vegans. There are currently no vegan-friendly desserts for you to purchase.

Kiss goodbye to the cookies, muffins, and brownies, as they all contain either milk, eggs, or both! 

If there is fresh fruit available at your local Subway, then this will be suitable for a vegan diet. Otherwise, it is a dessert-free lunch for you! 


The same applies in the morning, there is currently no vegan breakfast option available at Subway! This is disappointing for anyone looking for a warm vegan sausage sandwich to start their day!

There are plenty of other convenient vegan breakfast options available to you, though, with stores like Starbucks offering vegan-friendly alternatives to start your day. 

Final Thoughts 

And there you have it, there is just one sandwich available to vegans at Subway! It’s great news if you like a salad sandwich, as that’s all the Veggie Delight is!

But if you were looking for an alternative to your Meatball Marinara, you might be disappointed. 

The good news is you can choose from a wide variety of bread, toppings, sauces, and condiments that will allow you to customize the sandwich to suit your needs.

If you are in a pinch, have forgotten your lunch, or Subway is the only thing around, then the good news is that you can eat there! 

The bad news is that unless you like a salad sandwich, you might not want to return!

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)