Donuts are sure to be a hit with anyone.
These scrumptious pastries and cakes are popular all over the world, but especially in the United States of America, where a lot of fast food restaurants that specialize in serving these sweets have opened up in recent years.
If you are considering adopting a vegan way of life, you are probably curious about whether or not you will be able to continue eating donuts.
Are doughnuts one of the many things that, tragically, don’t work with a vegan diet?
The answer to this question depends on the shop that you get your donuts from. You can, of course, create vegan doughnuts at home, but what are your options if you want to buy them from a traditional donut shop?
When you think of a restaurant that sells donuts, Krispy Kreme is certainly one of the first places that come to mind.
So does Krispy Kreme sell vegan donuts? Let’s find out!
What Is Krispy Kreme?
JAB Holding Company is the owner of the doughnut shop and coffeehouse chain known as Krispy Kreme Doughnuts.
Created in the USA, Krispy Kreme is famous for its huge variety of unique donut flavors. Their menu includes up to 45 donut flavors at a time.
Krispy Kreme is also famous for its outstanding coffee, making it a great place to visit in the mornings when you want a hot drink and a quick bite to eat.
This brand has now become so popular that you can find its stores all over the world.
Can You Buy Vegan Donuts At Krispy Kreme?
The answer to this question depends on where you live.
If you are a vegan living in the UK then you’re in luck because yes, Krispy Kreme sells vegan donuts.
In the UK, Krispy Kreme began selling its first donut that was suitable for vegans in 2021. This donut was the traditional glazed variety.
If you live anywhere else, then the question as to whether Krispy Kreme donuts are vegan gets a bit more complicated, as it seems to be decided by the location of the shop.
In Australia for example, Krispy Kreme donuts are not vegan as they have ingredients such as egg and dairy in them, which come from animals.
Unfortunately, Krispy Kreme does not specify whether or not this holds true for all of their doughnut flavors or just some of them.
In addition, it is not clear whether this regulation is applicable only in Australia or everywhere in the world.
In the USA, Krispy Kreme sells 45 varieties of doughnuts. This includes three different kinds of miniature doughnuts as well as four different kinds of doughnut holes.
A look at the ingredient list for every variety of doughnuts offered by Krispy Kreme in the United States and Australia can be seen to have components derived from either milk or eggs.
As a result, you won’t find any vegan doughnuts at Krispy Kreme locations that aren’t in the UK.
Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Vegetarian?
Eggs (both the whites and the yolks) and dairy products (including milk, butter, yogurt, whey, nonfat milk, and nonfat whey) are the only animal by-products that are utilized in the production of Krispy Kreme doughnuts, as stated on the Nutritional Info page of the company’s website.
Because of this, Krispy Kreme donuts are vegetarian.
Why Aren’t Donuts Vegan?
Krispy Kreme is one of the many donut companies that follow the trend of using dairy components in its goods.
This can be done for a variety of reasons, but flavor and consistency are often the driving forces for the widespread use of these ingredients.
Donuts cannot be considered vegan because they contain egg, milk, and butter, all of which are derived from animal products and so cannot be eaten by vegans.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Plain Krispy Kremes Vegan?
No, not even the plain variety of Krispy Kreme dounts, known as the Original Glazed Doughnut, is vegan. This may be different in the UK though as they have made some of their glazed donuts vegan.
In every other part of the world though, Glazed donuts are made with ingredients that are derived from milk and eggs.
To be more specific, the doughnut itself is made with Dried Milk Powder as well as Egg Yolks.
Can You Get Eggless Donuts From Krispy Kreme?
No, you cannot get eggless donuts from Krispy Kreme. All of the 45 variations of donuts that are sold at Krispy Kreme use egg yolks as an ingredient.
This includes the three varieties of mini donuts and the four varieties of doughnut holes.
Can You Get Dairy-Free Donuts From Krispy Kreme?
There are also no dairy-free options at Krispy Kreme either. Each of Krispy Kreme’s 45 different varieties of donuts, including all three of the mini donut varieties and all four of the doughnut hole varieties, has dry milk powder as one of its components.
As a result, none of Krispy Kreme’s products are dairy-free.
What Oil Is Used In The Making Of Krispy Kreme Donuts?
According to the nutritional information for every one of Krispy Kreme’s donuts, Soybean Oil and Palm Oil are two substances that are used frequently in the production of their donuts.
Because of this, you should avoid Krispy Kreme donuts if you are trying to cut out these oils from your diet.
Are Krispy Kreme Donuts Kosher?
According to the Nutritional Info page on the Krispy Kreme website, all of their doughnuts are Kosher in terms of their ingredients.
Do Krispy Kreme Donuts Contain Nuts?
This is a bit of a difficult question to answer, as it depends on the flavors of donuts that are currently being sold in a particular Krispy Kreme store.
Out of the 45 standard flavors that Krispy Kreme make, a few of them have nutty toppings. These ones would obviously contain nuts and so are not suitable for those with allergies.
The other donuts that do not include nut toppings may be considered nut free by some people.
However, the frequently asked questions section of Krispy Kreme’s website states that tree nut and peanut allergens may be present in their stores.
This is because some of Krispy Kreme’s suppliers do make other products that contain nuts, so there is a small chance of cross-contamination.
Is Krispy Kreme Donuts Halal?
This is another question that answers seem to be based on where the store is located.
In New Zeland, Krispy Kreme released a statement saying “Our doughnuts are Halal appropriate and we are working on acquiring certification”
Therefore, it seems that Krispy Kreme’s donuts are not certified as Halal, but they do not violate any of the tenets of the religion.
Again, this might depend on whether you live, and getting this kind of information is a bit tricky. You may want to avoid Krispy Kreme just in case the donuts in your area are not halal.
The answer to the question as to whether Krispy Kreme sells vegan donuts seems to depend heavily on where the store is located.
For example, vegan donuts only seem to be sold in the UK, and even then they only offer one flavor.
In the rest of the world, there is no vegan option available, although vegetarians are in luck as all of their offerings are safe to eat for those following this diet.
Hopefully, Krispy Kreme donuts will soon join the growing number of eateries that are introducing plant-based menu alternatives so that vegans have more options on places to go for a quick bite to eat.