In-N-Out Vegan Options 2022: Don’t Get Your Hopes Up

Are you planning a visit to In-N-Out and want to know if there are vegan options for you? Or have you heard In-N-Out isn’t very good for vegans and want to know if that is true or not?

Or are you curious and want to know more? No matter what your question might be, we have the answer for you! 

In-N-Out Vegan Options 2022: Don’t Get Your Hopes Up

Figuring out what you can eat as a vegan in In-N-Out can be tricky.

After all, the menu seems so meat-focused, you can find yourself getting frustrated as you scan through the menu and nothing vegan pops out at you.

You start to wonder if you can enjoy your food here or if it will be another meal where you can only eat a side of fries. 

Well, no more! Today, we are here with the answers you need!

Keep reading to find out what options are available to you as a vegan in In-N-Out and everything you need to know about them! 

Does In-N-Out Have Vegan Options?

Let’s get straight into it! The vegan options at In-N-Out are quite poor. There is no vegan burger on offer, even though there has been a steady demand growing for several years now.

It’s unclear why In-N-Out has not responded to the demand, including several petitions and protests calling for more vegan options, only that there is no vegan or veggie burger on their menu! 

This is sure to have surprised you, especially considering how popular the chain is in California, which was recently ranked one of the most vegan-friendly states in the US!

But don’t worry, we have a complete guide below that allows you to work out what you can have in In-N-Out and how you can even enjoy a veggie burger there! 

Is There Anything Vegan At In-N-Out?

Sadly, your only vegan options at In-N-Out are:

  • Beverages 
  • French Fries 

That’s it! It’s far from ideal and has no doubt disappointed many vegans. 

However, there is a menu hack you can try that allows you to enjoy a veggie burger! We have more on this coming up and how to order the custom item, so be sure to keep reading! 

In-N-Out Vegan Items 

The vegan options at In-N-Out aren’t great! There isn’t a burger on the menu you can purchase, which is enough to put most vegans off.

But there are some options you can enjoy as part of a vegan diet. 

As a vegan, you can enjoy french fries and a range of beverages at In-N-Out. There is a way you can place a custom order for a veggie burger at In-N-Out which is vegan!

We know, these aren’t brilliant options! But if you are in a pinch, at least you know you can eat some food here! 

Let’s take a closer look at these options available to you now. 

French Fries 

The french fries on In-N-Out’s menu are made with 100% sunflower oil in the fryers separate from other foods.

However, their website or menu does not provide any information about cross-contamination, so we cannot guarantee that they are 100% vegan. 

It would be best to ask the server or manager in your local In-N-Out to see how they prepare their fries.

Given the information we have available to us, we are comfortable eating French Fries at In-N-Out and considering them vegan. 

Are In-N-Out Animal Style Fries Vegan?

Unfortunately not! Although the Animal Style fries don’t contain any meat, they are made with a spread that contains eggs. Anyone following a vegan diet will not be able to eat animal-style fries. 

Thankfully, you can enjoy the regular fries instead! 


Now you might be wondering what drinks you can enjoy at In-N-Out. The following list contains all the drinks you can purchase at In-N-Out while following a vegan diet. 

  • Barq’s Caffeine Free Root Beer
  • Barq’s Root Beer 
  • Coffee 
  • Coca-cola 
  • Diet coke 
  • Dr. Pepper 
  • Iced Tea 
  • Minute Maid Zero Sugar Lemonade 
  • Pink Lemonade
  • Sweet Tea 

How To Order A Vegan In-N-Out Burger?

In-N-Out Vegan Options 2022: Don’t Get Your Hopes Up

As you might have twigged from the rest of this article, there isn’t a vegan burger on sale at In-N-Out.

However, there is a hack that vegans use to create a custom veggie burger! This hack is typically used by vegans visiting the restaurant with their friends or family who doesn’t want to sit there without a burger! 

You can order the burger by ordering any burger at In-N-Out.

You just need to ask for the burger to be made without the spread and patty. You will be given a bun that contains vegetables typically in the burger. 

To this burger, you can add ketchup or mustard to it, replicating some of the flavors you would get with a burger.

Considering the great vegan options you can purchase elsewhere, this isn’t ideal, but it stops you from sitting there empty-handed! 

Are Any In-N-Out Sauces Vegan?

At In-N-Out, the only sauces you can enjoy as a vegan are ketchup and mustard.

All other sauces, including their signature sauce, are mayonnaise based, meaning they contain eggs. Make sure any food you order does not contain the mayo-based sauces. 

In-N-Out Items That Appear Vegan But AREN’T

The spread used at In-N-Out is often considered vegan friendly. However, the spread is not! It contains eggs, making it unsuitable for anyone following a vegan diet to consume.

If you are ordering any burger at In-N-Out, make sure you request it to be made without the spread. 

In-N-Out Vegetarian Options 

Vegetarians have slightly more options at In-N-Out than vegans! You can choose from the following to enjoy at your local In-N-Out restaurant. 

  • Grilled Cheese Burger – made with lettuce, tomato, and two slices of American cheese in a bun covered in In-N-Out’s signature sauce 
  • Animal-Style Fries – Fresh fries topped with In-N-Out’s signature sauce, grilled onions, and melted American cheese. 

Final Thoughts 

And there you have it, all the options you can choose from as a vegan in In-N-Out! While the options are not great, there is still a way for you to go and enjoy a meal with your friends or family.

However, if you are heading out for a vegan burger, there are plenty of other fantastic options to choose from! 

Frequently Asked Questions 

Before you leave us today, be sure to check out our FAQ section to get your last-minute questions answered! 

Does In-N-Out Have A Veggie Patty? 

No, In-N-Out does not offer any vegetable patties. 

Are In-N-Out Shakes Vegan?

No. In-N-Out shares are made with real ice cream, meaning they contain milk. These shakes are not suitable for vegans and there is no alternative on their menu. 

Are The Buns Vegan At In-N-Out?

Yes, the buns at In-N-Out are vegan-friendly! They do not contain any eggs or dairy, making them safe for vegans to eat. 

Are In-N-Out Fries Vegan?

Yes, the fries at In-N-Out are vegan! They are cooked in a separate fryer from other foods using sunflower oil, meaning they are suitable for anyone on a vegan diet. 

Are In-N-Out Animal Style Fries Vegan?

No. Although the animal-style fries do not contain any meat, they are made with a sauce that contains mayonnaise.

The mayonnaise used is made with eggs, making these fries suitable for vegetarians, but not vegans. 

Is There Vegan-Friendly Sauce At In-N-Out?

Ketchup and mustard are the only vegan-friendly sauces on offer at In-N-Out. 

Is The Spread At In-N-Out Vegan?

No, the spread used at In-N-Out contains eggs meaning it is not suitable for anyone on a vegan diet. 

Does In-N-Out Make Veggie Burgers?

No, In-N-Out does not make veggie burgers. However, you can make any burger veggie if you want it without the patty and spread. 

Does In-N-Out Have Impossible Burgers?

No, In-N-Out does not have any Impossible Burgers on offer.

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)