6 Vegan Options At Whataburger

As a vegan, you’ll likely already know the struggle when it comes to ordering food out.

You can go to countless restaurants and they may not even have suitable vegan options, or they will say they are vegan, but they could have some sort of animal component in them such as honey or meat broth. 

6 Vegan Options At Whataburger2

You have to be super careful when going out to eat, or you may even just prefer to stay home as it’s the safer option. With our guides, you can find out exactly which restaurants have vegan options, so you can go along with your friends and order something too, guilt free!

This guide is all about Whataburger. Whataburger is a chain of American fast food restaurants, based in San Antonio in Texas. Whataburger now has over 600 stores in the states, and you’ll likely have one in your vicinity.

As you may have guessed, Whataburger creates mainly hamburgers, so what can you get as a vegan? Are there any vegan options at Whataburger? 

Are There Vegan Options At Whataburger?

The difficulty with ordering food out is that you often don’t know what the ingredients are in the dishes. Sometimes, your server may not be sure either. So, we can let you know if there are vegan options available at your favorite fast food spots. 

The short answer is yes, there are 6 vegan options at Whataburger. We will outline these options in the section below.

However, we would like to note that ingredients and processes may vary from location to location, so it is always best to check with your server in your local Whataburger to ensure that you are getting a 100% vegan friendly meal.

This can also help limit the risk of cross contamination in your food, so that you can enjoy Whataburger guilt free.

Vegan Options At Whataburger


Our first option is the Whataburger fries! These are absolutely delicious, tasty and crispy, so shouldn’t be missed! They are also vegan friendly, because they are cooked in a liquid shortening made of soybean oil.

The other thing is that you don’t have to have them plain, you can choose either Spicy Ketchup or the Whataburger Fancy Ketchup, which are both vegan friendly. 

As a side note, Whataburger french fries are cooked in a fryer that is shared with other products that could contain animal ingredients such as chicken, eggs or milk. If this is against your beliefs, then avoid all fried food items from Whataburger. 

Garden Salad

As you will find in most fast food restaurants, the garden salad is a vegan friendly option at Whataburger. This salad is made with lettuce, carrots, shredded cheese and grape tomatoes. Of course, you will have to order it without the cheese in order to make it vegan friendly. 

The salad is also available with chicken, so do specify to your server that you cannot have chicken on yours. You can, however, order the garden salad with extra toppings such as avocado, grilled peppers, onions, jalapenos, or mushrooms. 

In addition, you will need to order a vegan friendly salad dressing, so you are best choosing either Balsamic Vinaigrette or Herb Vinaigrette for your salad.

6 Vegan Options At Whataburger2

Hash Browns

You will be happy to know that Whataburger’s hash browns are also vegan. These hash browns are also cooked in the company’s own liquid shortening which is made from Soybean oil. The hash browns are also the only breakfast item on the menu that is vegan. 

However, the hash browns are also fried in a shared fryer with non vegan products containing chicken, milk, or eggs, so if that is an issue for you avoid all fried products from Whataburger. 

Create Your Own Sandwich

You can also make your own vegan sandwich at Whataburger with the Create Your Own Sandwich option. All you have to do is ask your local server if you can do so. You need to pick your bread option and add your own additional toppings.

Luckily, the bread options are made with oils that are vegan friendly. You can choose from the bun, the flour tortilla, or Texas toast. Your optional toppings are avocado, lettuce, pickles, onions, tomato, fire roasted mushrooms, and grilled peppers.

You can also add mustard, Fancy Ketchup, or Spicy Ketchup which are all vegan friendly. 

Apple Slices

While it’s not a great option, it’s still a vegan option! Apple slices are 100% vegan friendly, and a great snack if you fancy it.


Our last option on the list is the drinks options at Whataburger. Your options are any of the teas and coffee, Coke and Dr. Pepper. You can also have Orange Juice during the breakfast hours. 


To conclude, there are 6 options at Whataburger for vegans. These include the fries, hash browns, apple slices, garden salad, drinks and if you create your own vegan friendly sandwich.

Whatever you decide to order, be sure to check with your local server to ensure it’s completely safe.

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)