When you try to think of fast-food restaurants that are friendly toward vegans, Arby’s probably isn’t one of the names that you would think of first, especially considering one of their taglines is “We Have The Meats”.
Thankfully though, if you do find yourself hungry and Arby’s is the only restaurant close by, there are a select few options on their menu that you can treat yourself to without having to worry about whether or not they’re vegan.
However, it is worth noting that if you have either wheat or a dairy allergy, then due to the potential for cross-contamination during the cooking process, then you should probably steer clear of Arby’s altogether.
What’s great is that some of their sauces are vegan-friendly too, so the potential for dipping is good news!
Best Vegan Options At Arby’s
If you want a full list of all of the vegan options available to you at Arby’s then keep reading on, as we’ll provide you with a complete breakdown of everything suitable for vegans.
Chopped Salad (With Cheese Removed)
Okay, we do understand that perhaps something as basic as a side salad isn’t really all too exciting, but it is worth noting that no matter what fast food restaurant you find yourself at, including Arby’s, that the side salad can usually be altered in order to be suitable for Vegans!
The typical ingredients of this salad include both leaf and iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, and shredded cheddar cheese. Of course, in order for this to be suitable for a vegan diet, you need to ask for the shredded cheddar cheese to be removed beforehand.
The other salads available don’t have any different base ingredients, they simply add the turkey or chicken meat, as well as the pepper bacon and the cheddar cheese on top.
So when it comes to finding the best salad to strip off non-vegan ingredients, you may as well opt for the chopped salad!
Thankfully, Arby’s does have some vegan salad dressings available, namely their balsamic vinaigrette and their light Italian dressing!
Famous nationwide for simply how good they are, did you know that the curly fries on offer at Arby’s are actually vegan?
But, although they are vegan, as in they contain no animal-based ingredients in them, there is no guarantee that cross contamination won’t occur during the cooking process, and these curly fries are fried in the same oil that is used for a whole host of other foods, such as milk, soy, egg, and where they have it available, fish.
Plus, Arby’s uses enriched bleached flour in their curly fries, so they aren’t suitable for anyone who is gluten-free either.
If you want to know the full list of ingredients that Arby’s uses in their curly fries, then check them out here: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (contains one or more of the following: canola oil, soybean oil, cottonseed oil, sunflower oil, Corn Oil, palm oil), Enriched Bleached Flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), Salt, Corn Starch, Onion Powder, Yellow Corn Meal, Spices, Garlic Powder, Leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), Modified Corn Starch, Dextrose, Spice and Coloring, Natural Flavor, Dried Torula Yeast, Xanthan Gum, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (to preserve color).
Cooked in Vegetable Oil. CONTAINS:WHEAT.
Another option on Arby’s menu that is vegan are the potato cakes! This is because they don’t contain zero animal-based ingredients in their recipe.
However, similarly to the curly fries, although they are technically vegan, because they don’t contain any animal-based ingredients in them, there is unfortunately no guarantee that cross contamination won’t occur during the cooking process, which occurs because these curly fries are fried in the same oil that is used for a whole host of other foods, such as milk, soy, egg, and if they have it available at that Arby’s location, fish products.
If you’re wondering what the complete list of ingredients that Arby’s uses in their potato cakes looks like, here you go: Potatoes, Canola Oil and/or Palm Oil, Potato (dehydrated), Salt, Corn Flour, Natural Flavoring, Disodium Dihydrogen Pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color), Dextrose.
Cooked in Vegetable Oil.
Considering how popular Arby’s curly fries are, then often people forget that Arby’s actually sells traditional homestyle fries too!
So if you manage to find an Arby’s that sells them, then you’ll be glad to know that Arby’s homestyle fries are vegan, and to us, also some of the best fries available from a fast food chain, but whether you agree or not is up to you!
However, just like the other fried options on this list, just because they are technically vegan, as they don’t contain any animal-based ingredients in them, it is worth noting that Arby’s makes no guarantee that cross contamination won’t occur during the cooking process, which can happen easily, because these curly fries are fried in the same oil that is used for a whole host of other foods, such as milk, soy, egg, and if they Arby’s you’re eating at has them available on the menu, fish products too.
Wondering what the ingredients list for the homestyle fries is, then look no further: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (may contain one or more of the following: canola, soybean, cottonseed, sunflower, corn, palm), Modified Potato Starch, and/or Modified Corn Starch, Rice Flour, Dextrin, Salt, Leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate), Xanthan Gum, Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (to preserve natural color).
Cooked in Vegetable Oil.
Arby’s Sauce And Other Sauces
If you decide to go for either the homestyle or curly fries at Arby’s, then of course you’re going to want some delicious sauces to dip them into. But it does leave the question, what sauces at Arby’s are actually vegan?
Well, to start with, the good news is that Arby’s own signature sauce is entirely vegan! It contains absolutely no animal ingredients in and is also free from any of the major allergens too.
Also available at Arby’s, and completely vegan, is the ketchup, the marinara sauce (although not the robust marinara), the Bronco berry sauce, red ranch sauce, and of course the smoky Q sauce!
So, when it comes to sauces to dip your fries into at Arby’s, you’re spoilt for choice for vegan sauces!
So whilst it is a shame that Arby’s has no dedicated vegan options and that the potato products are at risk of cross-contamination, there are a few accidental options for vegans at Arby’s, so if you find yourself stuck there, at least you can find something to eat!
- Vegan Marshmallow Brands - October 24, 2022
- Are Andes Mints Vegan? Plus Other Andes Mints FAQs Answered - October 24, 2022
- Vegan Options At Subway - October 24, 2022