Which Doritos Are Vegan? A Flavor Analysis

When switching to the vegan diet, it can be tricky to find snacks that adhere to this diet, and there’s nothing more soul-destroying than throwing out your favorite snacks because they contain animal-based products you no longer wish to consume.  

Doritos are one of the most loved snacks in the world. They are one of the most popular tortilla chip brands out there, and they are available in a variety of different flavors. 

Which Doritos Are Vegan? A Flavor Analysis

If you are a new vegan and love a savory snack, then you’ll be happy to know that there are a few Doritos flavors that are vegan! 

This article will be discussing which Doritos are vegan! 

What Are Doritos? 

Before we delve deep into the world of Doritos, let’s discuss what they actually are.

They are a brand of tortilla chips and are known as the world’s most popular flavored tortilla chips, made by Frito-Lay, which is part of the PepsiCo organization. 

They also have several dips to accompany them, and what sets this brand apart from the rest, is the array of different flavors that are available. 

Doritos are made from a base of ground corn, vegetable oil, and salt, but there are several other kinds of flavorings added to each flavor, resulting in a diverse range of options.

Here is where it becomes tricky for vegans, as many of these flavors use milk powder, cheese powder, and other animal-based ingredients. 

Which Doritos Are Vegan? 

Despite the diverse range of options available, there are only three flavors of Doritos that are vegan: Chili Heatwave, Spicy Sweet Chili, and Lightly Salted.

However, while these flavors do not contain any animal-based ingredients, they are still manufactured in the same factory, so there is a chance of cross-contamination. 

Chili Heatwave 

The Chili Heatwave Doritos come in a red packet and are actually a British version of Doritos.

However, in the US, you may still be able to purchase them through Amazon, if you can’t find them in the local grocery stores

While you may expect a peppery taste due to the ‘chili’ in the name, these Doritos have more of a sweet, hot pepper flavor.

This sweet flavor is quickly followed by a heat that is manageable, so those who don’t normally handle spice all that well, need not worry about these Doritos. 

These chips do not contain any animal-based products, but they are not certified as vegan because they are manufactured in the same factory as the non-vegan alternatives

Spicy Sweet Chili 

The Spicy Sweet Chili flavored Doritos are also completely vegan. They are made with a natural blend of soy sauce, onion powder, hydrolyzed soy protein, hydrolyzed corn protein, and paprika extracts. 

You can expect to experience a lovely sweetness with this flavor, and only a very mild spice, which makes it a great option for those who aren’t good with too much heat, like the flavor discussed above. 

Lightly Salted

The ingredients used in the Lightly Salted Doritos are corn, vegetable oil, and salt. Therefore, this suggests that this flavor is vegan-friendly. 

These have a very simple, light flavor, and a lovely crunch to them. As these are so mild in flavor, they pair perfectly well with all kinds of sauces. 

What Ingredients Make Doritos Unsuitable For Vegans? 

Unfortunately for vegans, most other flavors are unsuitable due to animal-based products being used in their manufacturing. 

Some common ingredients used in them are cheese, whey, buttermilk, and sour cream. These ingredients are bound in the Ranch, and Blazin’ Buffalo Doritos, making them unsuitable for vegans. 

What Ingredients Make Doritos Unsuitable For Vegans? 

Other flavors, such as the Jack Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Doritos contain chicken fat, butter, chicken broth, and chicken powder, all unsuitable for the vegan diet.

Many Doritos flavors also contain cheese powder, which is also not something that those who follow a vegan diet should consume. 

Fun Facts About Doritos 

Although Doritos are the most popular tortilla brand on the globe, there are a few interesting facts that many people don’t know about them. 

1. It All Began In Disneyland!

The company that manufactures them, Frito-Lay, used to have a restaurant inside Disneyland Park in the 60s. 

One day, somebody noticed that stale tortillas were being thrown out, and suggested they fry them up and make chips instead. 

Arch West, a marketing executive noticed this and convinced Frito-Lay to start selling them as chips on a national scale, and the rest is history! 

2. They’ve Been Designed To Make You Crave More

You’ll be happy to know that it isn’t just you who can’t get enough of these chips, they’ve been designed that way! 

They have a high concentration of fat, and when they melt in your mouth, your brain believes the calories have gone too, so this delays any feelings of fullness. 

They are also very dusty, and when you lick this off your fingers, it will give you another pang of flavor! 

3. Cool Ranch Isn’t Cool Ranch Everywhere

Cool Ranch Doritos aren’t known by this name outside of the US. In certain parts of Europe, you’ll find these as either ‘Cool American’, or ‘Cool Original’. 

You’re also likely to find different flavors in different parts of the world! 

4. They’ve Been To The Grave

The marketing executive for Doritos, Arch West, passed away in 2011.

As he was a huge lover of the brand, and the chips themselves, his family sprinkled some Doritos on his urn before they buried him. 

5. They Can Help With A Campfire

Interestingly, Doritos can help light up a campfire if you’re struggling. Their high oil and carb content makes them a good kindling option, as they can catch a flame pretty quickly. 

Next time you’re headed for a camping trip, make sure to pack some packets with you in case you struggle to light a fire! 

6. Nacho Cheese Flavor Doritos Have Been Around Nearly 50 Years

This delicious flavor first appeared in 1974! They are made with Romano cheese, garlic powder, and salt (no, they’re not suitable for vegans). 

These are a favorite for Doritos-lovers, and they still constitute half of Doritos’ sales! 

Final Thoughts 

Doritos are the most popular tortilla chip brand in the entire world. What sets them apart is the variety of flavors you can find! 

However, despite their many flavors, only three of them are suitable for vegans. These are lightly salted, spicy sweet chili, and chili heatwave.

Although these flavors do not contain any animal-based ingredients, they are not certified as vegan because they are manufactured in the same factory as those that do contain animal-based products. 

However, if this is not an issue for you, then you can consume these flavors guilt-free! 

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)