Vegan Jello Brands

You’re probably wondering if you can eat jello when you’re on a vegan diet. Unfortunately, your average jello isn’t vegan or vegetarian-friendly.

See, the main ingredient of jello is gelatin, collagen made from boiling the bones and skins of animals such as cows and pigs. However, that doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy vegan jello.

Vegan Jello Brands

Nowadays, you can enjoy jello with cruelty-free ingredients. Here are three of the biggest brands of vegan jello on the market today.

So, keep an eye out for Bakol Jel Desserts, Gefen Jell Desserts, and Simply-Delish Plant-Based Jells. If you want the most reliable vegan jello, these three are your best bets. 

What Is Vegan Jello?

Vegan jello is a way to enjoy jello without gelatin. You’ll find that most of these products come in mixtures and are thus pre-flavored.

Of course, there are also unflavored versions of these products where you can add flavor. 

You might find that you want to not only have vegan jello because of other dietary restrictions.

Not only are they Kosher and Halal in most cases, but they’re also great for anyone on a Keto diet too. Of course, you should always check the packaging to ensure they’re right for you.

How Do You Make Vegan Jello?

As all three of the vegan jello desserts on this list are mixes, they all have similar prep methods. You will only need a few extra elements to make your dish depending on the specific instructions.

All you need are a saucepan, a fork or whisk, a mold, and a fridge. You just need to add the mix to some hot water and stir it together until the mixture dissolves.

Pour the jello mix into your mold, and let it chill in the fridge until it’s firm. Once that’s done, you can remove the jello from the mold, and it should be good to go.

Just remember to follow all the directions on the packaging, but generally, they will all follow that formula. 

Bakol Jel Dessert

Bakol Jel Dessert is a vegan jello mix that you should be able to find in a grocery store near you. Bakol Jel is not only vegan, but it’s gluten-free too. Bakol is described as being Halal and Kosher, too. 

Along with an unflavored edition of this jello, you’ll find it comes in five pre-flavored mixes: cherry, lemon, orange, strawberry, and raspberry.

None of the flavors are made with artificial sweeteners, colors, or flavors, so you’ll be able to enjoy a pleasant and healthy treat.

Bakol Jel Desserts have a similar texture to your standard jello and are easily made in molds. You can make them with your family, and you can even use them for jello shots too. 

The ingredients used to make Bakol Jel include: 

  • Evaporated cane juice
  • Vegetable gum
  • Citric acid
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Natural flavoring
  • Beet Powder 

Gefen Jell Dessert

Not only is Gefen Jell vegan-friendly, but they’re Kosher too. In these desserts, you’ll find a variety of flavors that you can purchase in different locations.

You’ll find different flavors in the form of lemon, lime, orange, strawberry, raspberry, and so many more to look forward to.

While Gefen Jell can be used for jello shots and desserts, it’s not recommended for replacing gelatin in gummy bears.

However, it’s pretty easy to add your own flavoring to it, as the unflavored edition has no specific flavors. 

The ingredients used to make Gefen Jell are: 

  • Sugar
  • Carrageenan
  • Adipic Acid
  • Potassium Citrate

Simply Delish Plant-Based Jel

If you want a vegan Jello that is not only vegan but gluten-free, Kosher, and nut-free, then Simply Delish is the one for you.

As a healthier alternative to Jello, you’ll find that this mix is sugar-free and colored and flavored with all-natural ingredients.

If you want to find their variety of flavors, you can do so through their store locator.

Designed for families to enjoy healthier alternatives, you’ll find these desserts in orange, peach, raspberry, and strawberry flavors.

Much like the Bakol, they’re easy for your kids to make alongside you and can be used to make a host of fun desserts.

Not only can you make desserts with them, but you can also make jello shots (with some added cocktail inspiration) and work fine on their own too.

The ingredients used to make Simply Delish are: 

  • Erythritol
  • Carrageenan
  • Citric acid
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Natural Color using beet and beta carotene
  • Natural flavors (depending on the flavor you buy)
  • Stevia extract

Final Thoughts

If you’re looking for vegan jello, regardless of your dietary restrictions, these are the best choices.

Not only are they cruelty-free, but they’re also made from natural ingredients and can be used as standalone desserts as well as for jello shots.

So next time you’re on the lookout for a healthier alternative, look for these three.

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)