The Only 3 Vegan Options At Shake Shack

Shake Shack is a popular restaurant chain in the United States that started with hot dogs, and which nowadays specializes in hamburgers, French fries, and their signature shakes.

The Only 3 Vegan Options At Shake Shack

To this day, Shake Shack has more than 250 locations and there are plenty of people who visit the restaurant every week for a burger and shake. But did you know that it also has 3 vegan options on its menu?

Yes, it is certainly a very poor selection, but for a chain that’s known for dairy drinks and patties, it’s quite a relief to know that vegans might have a couple of options to choose from.

So, keep on reading below to check out the only 3 vegan options you can order at Shake Shack!

1. Gluten-Free Bun

As we said, the options are poor, and you could probably tell that by the limited number of them. Starting with the gluten-free bun, this is one of the 3 vegan menu options Shake Shack offers.

While eating a bun on its own is certainly not an option, it is good to know that there’s a vegan bun you can order alongside your friend’s chicken burger when you are at home and fancy making a homemade vegan burger and are only missing some buns!

2. Veggie Shack

Shake Shack launched the “Veggie Shack” in limited locations in the U.S. in April 2018. The Veggie Shack includes a patty from black beans, brown rice, and roasted beetroots.

In between the patty and the burger buns are vegetable slices like lettuce, tomato, and onions, while there are also pickles and vegan mustard mayo.

This burger is, however, vegetarian as the burger buns used to make it have dairy. Another dairy ingredient is the provolone cheese that is added to the burger.

This doesn’t mean that you can’t turn this into your “Vegan Shack;” simply replace the bun with a gluten-free one or go for a lettuce wrap, and then ask for no cheese in your burger. Easy peasy!

You will probably spot the Shroom Burger on Shake Shack’s menu too and wonder if it can be also made vegan.

Sadly, the answer is no as the mushroom patty used is coated in breadcrumbs and has a cheese stuffing, so it cannot be adjusted to your vegan diet.

3. French Fries

Deep-fried potatoes are vegan by themselves and extremely delicious. A classic side order, they can always be enjoyed as a main dish when dipped in some vegan dip and accompanied by a side salad.

However, you should check with the restaurant’s staff or manager before ordering French fries from Shake Shack.

That is because even though most restaurant chains use a separate fryer for French fries and any other vegan menu items they have, there might be some Shake Shack that uses the same one for fries and chicken.

So, it’s better to know than to be sorry later!

Vegan Beverages

While not a food option, there are some vegan drinks you can order from Shake Shack. You are probably hoping to see some vegan milkshakes here, but we are going to disappoint you.

There are no vegan milkshakes currently available on the Shake Shack menu, but there are some classic refreshments like Coca-Cola that you can order.

If you want to have some alcohol, Shake Shack also orders red wine, but before you order some double-check that it is vegan.

Available In The UK Only: Crispy Shallot Burger

The Crispy Shallot Burger from Shake Shack was developed in collaboration with chef Neil Rankin and is vegan-friendly.

This burger is made with a vegan patty and on top of it, you can find a melted slice of smoky vegan cheddar cheese, the crispiest of shallots made in a beer marinade, slices of lettuce, and a vegan mayo and mustard sauce.

If you are wondering what the patty ingredients are, you will be pleased to know that it is the perfect combination of mushrooms, onions, miso, bulgur wheat, and a seasoning mix.

While this burger is only available in the UK, it is, nevertheless, a good sign that Shake Shack is making a move towards adding some vegan options to its menu. So, fingers crossed there are more to come!

The Bottom Line

Shake Shack has become famous for its non-vegan menu and that is something that will probably stay this way for as long as the chain is operating and expanding.

However, the increase in demand for vegetarian and vegan options is something that has had an impact on every restaurant chain, with many of them having already added plenty of such items to their menus, like McDonald’s.

So, while Shake Shack is currently not that much of a vegan-friendly restaurant, this might change soon enough so stay up to date with any menu changes!

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)