Jimmy John’s Vegan Options

Being a vegan, no matter what your reason is can be difficult for some. It can be so hard to find food and menu items that accommodate your diet, and eating out in restaurants can be a pain. 

Most of the time, the options are limited, or the vegan friendly options run the risk of being cross contaminated with animal related ingredients as the restaurants use the same cooking equipment to handle the food.

Jimmy John’s Vegan Options

So, you may feel lost and unsure what you can safely eat. 

That’s where we come in handy. With our guides, you can find out exactly what you can eat at your favorite local restaurants. So, are there vegan options at Jimmy John’s?

Are There Vegan Options At Jimmy John’s?

The short answer is yes, there are vegan options at Jimmy John’s. However, these are limited. There are only five vegan options at Jimmy John’s which we have listed below.

As a side note, you should always be sure to check with your server first before ordering as every location could vary. 

There is always the risk of cross contamination with your food, so proceed with caution when ordering any food at Jimmy John’s, or any fast food restaurants and cafes.

So, with that in mind, let’s take a look at some of the items you can order at Jimmy John’s! 

Vegan Choices At Jimmy John’s

There are actually 5 vegan friendly options that you can order at Jimmy John’s at this time. 


The good news is that there are a few vegan options when it comes to bread at Jimmy John’s. So, you can potentially make your own sandwich if you want to.

The vegan bread options are 9-grain wheat subs, 9-grain wheat sliced bread, the french bread, and what is called an unwich- which is a lettuce wrap substitute instead of bread!

It should be noted that Jimmy John’s does not claim that any of the breads they provide are completely vegan, as the breads are processed in a manufacturing facility that also deals with eggs, so there is a small risk of cross contamination between the foods.

For many vegans, they may still consider this okay to eat, but if it’s against your morals, then avoid the bread entirely. 


Let’s face it, the sandwiches are what draw people into Jimmy John’s, so it would be a shame if you couldn’t order one because of your dietary requirements.

At present, Jimmy John’s has just one vegetarian sandwich option, but you can make it vegan. 

The sandwich is called the number 6 Original Veggie sandwich. It comes with avocado, tomato, lettuce provolone and Mayo.

So, of course, you would have to remove the provolone cheese and the mayo, but you are able add some different vegan friendly toppings instead. 

For instance, you can add onions, peppers, or pickles, and top with a vegan condiment. We’ll go over what your options are below! 

In addition to this, you can make your own custom sandwich with any vegan ingredients that Jimmy John’s offers.



The vegan friendly toppings at Jimmy John’s are:

  • Yellow Mustard
  • Oil and Vinegar
  • Jimmy’s Mustard
  • Gray Poupon
  • Oregano Basil Seasoning


The vegan toppings you can pick from are:

  • Pickles
  • Onions
  • Tomato
  • Lettuce
  • Jimmy’s Peppers
  • Avocado
  • Cucumber
  • Sprouts

Sides & Chips

Unfortunately the cookies at Jimmy John’sare not vegan friendly, but you can eat the BBQ Jimmy Chips, Thinny Chips, Jumbo Kosher Dill Pickle, Regular Jimmy Chips and the Jalapeno Chips. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Are The Pickles At Jimmy John’s Vegan?

The pickles at Jimmy John’s contain no egg or dairy products, which means that they are in fact vegan. 

Is The Bread At Jimmy John’s Vegan?

In line with Jimmy John’s allergen and nutrition guide, all of the breads are free from any egg based and dairy ingredients.

Therefore, the breads are in fact vegan friendly. Just check at your local store as some breads such as the wheat bread can contain honey. 

Are The Chips Vegan At Jimmy John’s?

There are five chip flavors in total at Jimmy John’s, four of which are vegan. The only flavor that is non vegan is the salt and vinegar chips.

The others- the jalapeno jimmy chips, the bbq jimmy chips, jimmy chips and thinny chips are all 100% vegan friendly.

Are The Cookies At Jimmy John’s Vegan?

In most cases, the cookies at Jimmy John’s can contain egg and dairy products, so they are not safe for a vegan. 


While there are limited vegan choices at Jimmy John’s restaurants, it’s better than nothing. You can have a sandwich, or sample some of the bread and even have some chips.

It should be noted that the company does not claim that the breads are 100% vegan friendly, as they could be cross contaminated during the manufacturing process, but it is your decision whether you choose to eat them because of this or not. 

Whatever you decide to order, just be sure to check with your server first before ordering, just to be sure there are no mistakes. With this guide, you can order your food with confidence! 

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)