Jersey Mike’s Vegan Options

Being a vegan is a great choice. It’s not just a dietary requirement, it’s a lifestyle change. Becoming vegan has so many benefits, but it does have some downfalls.

For instance, you may struggle to find menu items and food that you can safely eat as a vegan when out at local restaurants.

Jersey Mike’s Vegan Options

Some restaurants may not even have 100% vegan options at all, as they may not consider the fact that buns or foods can be coated in oil that contains animal derived ingredients. We know the struggle!

That’s why we’re going to go over all of the vegan options at your favorite sub spot- Jersey Mike’s! Jersey Mike’s is a popular American sandwich shop, with nearly 1500 locations across the country, with some even in Canada and down under in Australia! 

If you want to head to Jersey Mike’s as a vegan, you’ll need to know what your options are. So, are there any vegan options at Jersey Mike’s? Let’s find out. 

Are There Any Vegan Options At Jersey Mike’s?

The short answer is that yes, there are vegan options at Jersey Mike’s, but as you may have guessed, these options are limited.

There are only 5 options that you can safely eat as a vegan, which we will outline below. 

We should note that while we have done the research for you, it is worth checking with your local Jersey Mike’s server before ordering, as ingredients, equipment and processes could vary from location to location.

In addition, if you are concerned about the ingredients in Jersey Mike’s food, you can check out their nutrition and allergen information online. 

Vegan Choices At Jersey Mike’s


First up on our list of options is the bread at Jersey Mike’s. There are five breads in total at this restaurant, two of which are 100% vegan friendly. These are the Seeded Italian Bread and the Wheat Bread.


In addition to this, the White Bread is made with vegan ingredients, however it does contain honey, so if this is an issue for you then avoid that one, but if you’re not against bee related products, then the White Bread is another option for you. 


Next up on our list are the Jersey Mike’s sandwiches! Jersey Mike’s is known for their delicious sub sandwiches, so it would be a real shame to miss out on these just because you’re vegan. 

Luckily, there is a vegetarian option on the menu, called the Veggie sandwich. This does contain swiss cheese and provolone cheese, but you can remove these from the sandwich and add extra toppings insead.

Other ingredients in this sandwich are the onions, lettuce, tomatoes, green bell peppers, salt, oregano, olive oil and red wine vinegar. 

The good news is that at the majority of Jersey Mike’s locations, you can substitute avocado instead of the cheese for free! You can also create your own sandwich with any of the toppings we have outlined below that are 100% vegan. 


While you can order the bread or the sandwiches, you won’t want it to be plain and boring, so you can order some condiments to go with it! The vegan friendly condiments are mustard, oregano, salt, red wine vinegar, and olive oil blend. 


If you want to build your own Jersey Mike’s sandwiches, then you can do so with any of their 100% vegan friendly toppings.

These are the lettuce, onions, green bell peppers, tomatoes, jalapeno peppers, dill pickles, banana peppers, avocado, and the cherry pepper relish. 


There are also a few sides and snacks that you can eat at Jersey Mike’s as a vegan. For instance, you can choose from a range of vegan chips. That being said, flavors and styles vary from location to location.

There will likely be Sun Chips available, Lays, and Mrs Vickies. Just to be safe, we recommend checking the ingredients lists when in store, as we said they do vary depending on which Jersey Mike’s you visit. 

As a side note: Jersey Mike’s also offers brownies, cookies, and other sweet treats, however it is highly likely that these either contain egg or dairy products, or have come into contact with them during processing.

So, you will need to avoid those, as they are not vegan friendly. 


To conclude, Jersey Mike’s doesn’t have a huge range of menu items suitable for vegans, aside from the bread, condiments, vegan toppings and veggie sandwich.

But, you can be smart about it, by removing items from the veggie sandwich, or by creating your own sandwich with our list of vegan toppings. 

With our guide, you’ll be more aware of what you can order in your local Jersey Mike’s on your next visit, and you can eat your food with confidence. 

Eve Mason
Latest posts by Eve Mason (see all)