While following a vegan diet is an excellent way to improve your health, those who are just starting on this diet may find it very difficult to give up on their old favorite foods and snacks.
When walking down the candy aisle as a vegan, you will notice very quickly that a lot of the products are off-limits as they contain a surprising amount of animal byproducts.
In almost every ingredient list you will see that milk products, beeswax, or gelatin have been used, which makes the sweet treats unsuitable for vegans.
But what about Tooties Rolls? These delicious treats are loved by both children and adults alike but are they safe to eat as a vegan?
There has been some debate and misunderstanding over the years over whether or not Tootsie Rolls and other products are suitable for vegans.
Keep reading to find out all about Tootsie Rolls and the various other products to see if you can still eat these as a vegan.
What Are Tootsie Rolls?
Tootsie Rolls and other similar products made by the same company are some of the most popular candies in the USA.
A Tootsie Roll is a kind of candy that resembles taffy and has a flavor that is somewhere between chocolate and vanilla.
The candy does not melt and possesses characteristics that are similar to both caramels and taffy, yet does not fit exactly into either category.
Tootsie Rolls have been produced in the United States since 1907. Tootsie Roll Industries has its headquarters in Chicago, which is located in the state of Illinois.
A big claim to fame for Tootsie Rolls is that it was the very first penny candy to be wrapped individually in the USA.
Since its creation, the Tootsie Roll brand has created many other similar products such as Tootsie Fruit Chews and Tootsie Pops.
Are Tootsie Rolls Vegan?
According to the list of ingredients that can be seen on the official Tootsie Roll website, the “Original Classic Tootsie Roll” has various components that are derived from milk.
Both Whey and skim milk are included in this category. Because both of these ingredients come from animal sources, Tootsie Rolls cannot be considered vegan.
Tootsie Roll Ingredeints
Corn syrup, sugar, cocoa, skim milk, palm oil, whey, and soy lecithin are the ingredients that go into making Tootsie Rolls. Artificial and natural flavors are also included.
Milk and soy are both included in this product as well.
Are Tootsie Fruit Chews Vegan?
Both whey and skim milk can be found in Tootsie Fruit Chews, just like they can be found in the original Tootsie Rolls. Because of this, Tootsie Fruit Chews cannot be considered vegan.
Tootsie Fruit Chews Ingredients
Skim Milk, Artificial, and Natural Flavors, Whey, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Palm Oil, Malic Acid, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Colors Tootsie Fruit Chews 3 Photo Courtesy of Tootsie Roll’s Instagram (Including FD&C Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 1).
Milk and soy are both included in this product.
Are Tootsie Pops Vegan?
To make matters worse for those who love this candy, Tootsie Pops also include whey and skim milk among its ingredients. This is to be expected given that Tootsie Rolls are also used to make Tootsie Pops.
As a result, Tootsie Pops also cannot be eaten when following a vegan diet.
Tootsie Pop Drops, Tootsie Bunch Pops, and Tootsie Pops Minis, are also NOT vegan.
Tootsie Pops Ingredients
Citric Acid, Palm Oil, Corn Syrup, Sugar, Artificial Colors, Soy Lecithin, Artificial and Natural Flavors, Whey, Cocoa, Skim Milk, Strawberry Powder Tootsie Pops 2 Photo Credit: Tootsie Roll’s Instagram Tootsie Pop Ingredients Sugar
Milk and soy are both included in this product.
In Tootsie Rolls, there are some ingredients that you as a vegan may or may not be comfortable with eating. Here are a few of these.
Sugar is one of the first few ingredients in almost all candy. Sugar is a controversial product among vegans because refined cane sugar gets its pure white color by being processed with bone char.
Even though there are no bone char particles in the sugar itself, it is not vegan because of how it is made.
Since the type of sugar is usually not mentioned on the product label, it can be a bit difficult to find products that contain vegan-friendly sugar.
Palm oil is a sticky subject for vegans, not because it comes from animals, but because growing palm oil has terrible effects on the environment and hurts a lot of animals.
Natural flavors can come from either animals or plants, but most candies have natural flavors that come from plants. If known, those natural flavors that come from animals will be mentioned on the label.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Tootsie Rolls Vegitarian?
Tootsie Rolls include milk-based components, which are suitable for vegetarians as this group still eats some animal products. So yes, Tootie Rolls are vegetarians.
Are Tootsie Rolls Dairy Free?
Whey and skim milk are both components of every Tootsie product, including but not limited to Tootsie Rolls, Fruit Chews, and Pops. As a result, Tootsie Rolls do NOT work with the dairy-free diet.
Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten Free?
On the website of Tootsie Roll, it is stated that “At the present moment, all of our confections are free of gluten.”
The brand does not utilize any components of wheat, rye, barley, oats, triticale, or spelt in any of its products, and that includes the dusting that they use on their conveyor belts.
The production of their goods also does involve the utilization of corn and soy-based products.
All Tootsie Roll products are gluten-free.
Are Tootsie Rolls Kosher?
The product website for Tootsie Rolls states that they are suitable for Kosher consumption.
Are Tootsie Rolls Halal?
The only two ingredients in Tootsie Rolls that come from an animal source are skim milk and whey, as stated on the product page for Tootsie Rolls. As a result, Tootsie Rolls do not violate Islamic law.
Are Tootsie Pops Vegitarian?
Tootsie Pops exclusively include milk-based components, which are safe for vegetarians to eat as this group only keeps away from meat products.
Are Tootsie Pops Dairy Free?
Whey and skim milk are components of every Tootsie product, including Tootsie Fruit Chews, Rolls, and Pops. As a result, Tootsie Pops are not suitable for those following a dairy-free diet.
Are Tootsie Pops Gluton Free?
As stated above, every Tootsie Pop product is completely gluten-free, making this one of the few candies that are suitable for those suffering from celiac disease.
Are Tootsie Pops Halal?
The only two ingredients in Tootsie Pops that come from an animal source are skim milk and whey, as stated on the product page for Tootsie Pops. As a result, Tootsie Pops can be consumed by those following a kosher diet.
According to the list of ingredients that can be seen on the company’s website, no Tootsie Roll product, including Tootsie Pops, Fruit Chews, or the classic Tootsie Roll is suitable for vegans. On the other hand, each of them is suitable for vegetarians.